NOHK Talk: Nisekoi

“SHUU X RURI TOO GOOD. EVEN MY LITTLE SISTER COULDN’T HELP BUT TAKE A LOOK.” – Arisa

“congrats donkey kong” – ruo

“I’m glad I didn’t read/watch it” – Alkaeid

“And on that day, Ruri x Shu ship had finally come to fruition. In fairness, definitely the best highlight in the overall ending for meticulous Nisekoi fans. 😛 ” – Renegade

“It’s okay. Tsugumi still #1.” -notKotori

“Too much drama for an expected ending” – Gazer

“GG P3rcY” “It finally ended after so many fillers” – Requiem

(These one-liners sound like product reviews or something crazy like that.)

13936605_1307676505924285_1621155665_n

With the end of something comes a new beginning. The end of my summer means the beginning of my college life again. The end of a rant comes with another one. The end of a series starts up the question, “What do I do with my life now?” Do I just accept it or do I try to get my thoughts across? And judging from this post, it looks like I wanna talk.

13989456_1307677195924216_1062596760_n

(thanks to Arisa for the dank rips LOL)

A few days ago, we saw the end of the manga I’ve seen most fillers of through the fastest composition of an inconvenient plot device and a final encounter most likely ended through fan votes. Even when I threw in the towel, the chapters near the end sparked hope. False hope. Nisekibou. Close enough. TTwTT

I was reading the final chapter while waiting for a CS:GO match to load up, and when it did, I stopped at this page:

SHUU X RURI UWAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Priceless. Separate story pl0x.

I FREAKED BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WAS KOSAKI. And since I was in game, I wasn’t able to continue to double-check, so all game long, which was more or less 35 minutes, I was freaking out internally. W T F. 

But I get screwed over even more. That was actually Kyoko-sensei, not Yui-nee, the Don. Something good about re-reading yay. I feel stupid now. XD

Last two times I did an ending post, I went full force and reviewed every single page. This time, however, it feels uninspiring to do so. That’s because the ending is equally uninspiring. I’ll just give my three reasons why the ending sucked. Bias or no bias.

First off, the ending felt so forced that it felt like an omake. Omakes aren’t necessary to do as the mangaka, and with that comparison, it felt as if the series could have just stopped at 228 instead of 229. 228 could have also been created better to serve that purpose. Instead, it became an unnecessary bridge to the exit other than being the exit itself.

Also, remember when a good story meant it gave the reader a moral lesson or something remotely close to that? Yeah. That’s still a thing. And with this ending, what do I take from it? Promises are meant to be broken, yet we still make them as a feeling of assurance? Be the go-getter because you never know when opportunities disappear? Love is a battlefield, where propinquity is the key? Youthfulness is bliss, but eventually we have to become adults and face the destiny we created or that fell onto us? Screw all of that. The core lesson is nowhere to be seen. Maybe life just goes on that way?

And don’t get me started on the final page. I might be going overboard with the liberalism here, but not knowing how to kiss properly? H T F are teeth involved?? I’m done. And they don’t actually get married as an ending. They’re still about to marry, and then what? Go LDR for the rest of their marriage because Chitoge’s designing clothes with her mom in the US (they might even be travelling!) while Raku’s stationed still where the Shuuei group is? That’s an epilogue-ish topic, but still! Wouldn’t it have been a better ending just showing off the marriage instead of teasing it? What’s the point in keeping it at bay?

Anyway, enough from me. I’ve got someone else here who’s also got a thing or two to say about Komi Naoshi-sensei’s non-cancelled work (I swear this sounded better in my head lol)

13956981_1307673765924559_1924064755_n

Hime-senpai here, and I’ve come to make a cameo on Percy’s blog post. More to come on part 2, so stay tuned!

Well, last time you heard anything from me about the Nisekoi ending, it was when the series “will end in two weeks”. Guess what, it probably should have said “two months” lol. Pretty hilarious in hindsight, right? Almost everyone was reporting it except Jump itself. Guess that makes it a lesson learned for everyone haha.

Anyway, onto the ending itself, I guess I’m on the other end of the spectrum with my fellow writer here, because I for one, felt justified by the ending. I made it clear on my other blog post that I think the “right” way to end Nisekoi would be having Raku get together with Chitoge, despite being a Kosaki fan myself. It was the predictable ending, and rightfully so, in my opinion. As for why? I explained it before on my blog post regarding Nisekoi’s final stretch.

Personally, if I were to comment on the three points my fellow writer here brought up, I think I would put the most attention with the second point. Maybe it’s just an effect of my style of reading manga or watching anime, but I think if we’re going to truly will it, we can find a “moral lesson”, or at least a theme that the writer is trying to tell us. Trust me, no matter which anime, even the most “useless waste of time popcorn” shows, you’ll find something in each arc that the author might want to impart to his consumers.

Not really popcorn, but close enough

In Nisekoi’s case, I’m not sure if it can be considered a “moral” lesson, but I guess what the writer wanted to emphasize is the importance of the development process of relationships. For me, the story’s message, as far as the themes of love is concerned, is something similar to a “hare and tortoise” story. After all, who was the one who spent a lot more “meaningful” interaction with Raku between the two girls? Who was the one who played a more “active” role in being with and helping Raku in his times of need or his personal quests, such as saving Marika in the arranged marriage arc?

The title is called Nisekoi – false love, with it pertaining to the initial relationship between Raku and Chitoge. Initially. I think that sets up Komi for his “feel good” story that aimed to give hope, that one such false love would eventually evolve into true feelings as long as the two of you manage to “level up” together and grow with each other. It’s basically a very idealized feel good story (as with most anime of this genre) that I assume is supposed to show its readers the power of possibilities. Even when all seemed hopeless, if you work hard together and find your rhythm, you would soon end up in the finish line together, despite what fate would supposedly hold you back (represented by the promised girl segment).

That’s my thought as far as the flow of the story and the ending is concerned.

I’m pretty surprised to see both sides of the coin here, to be honest. That’s the NOHK for ya’. Well, it’s been a pleasure reading Nisekoi. Thanks to ruo for recommending it since 2 years ago. Despite my negative feedback, I’m always sad to see a series say goodbye. It’s meant a lot, but with the end of Nisekoi, I can always find something else to fill the void of my reading schedules, and until that time comes, I will see y’all in the next one! Hime-senpai and I got caught up with a bit more insights discussed, so stay tuned for that in Part 2! See ya’~

(Pics that are not Arisa’s dank edits except the last one aren’t ours. So shut it already.)

Leave a Reply

